Student Activities

Student Leadership Awards

Students make significant and lasting impacts on Brown. Each year, various offices solicit nominations for awards to recognize the efforts of students - including the Student Activities Office.

At the end of each academic year, the Student Activities Office Awards Program recognizes the accomplishments of student leadership in the context of recognized student organizations. By the time they are seniors, many student leaders often have put in hundreds of hours as members of student groups; some students even go into careers based on their group memberships. The Leadership Awards recognize the value that student contributions have at Brown.

Student Leadership

Awarded to the member of a student group who best demonstrates the qualities of outstanding leadership and membership, such as dependability, dedication, trustworthiness, loyalty and helpfulness.

Past Recipients

2024 Kikuyo Shaw and Jada Wooten
2023 Justin Lu, Victoria Rose and Jack Walker
2022 Emma Rosenkranz, Charles Wang and Mia McKinney
2019 Jennifer Xinyue Xu
2018 Gabe Zimmerman and Diem-Khanh (Nini) Nguyen
2017 Yun Gao, Eren Ileri and Madeline DiGiovanni
2016 Emma Dickson, Lauren Galvan and Christine Mullen
2015 Sophia Dalce and Samuel Kase

Awarded to the member of a student group who best demonstrates the qualities of outstanding leadership and membership, such as dependability, dedication, trustworthiness, loyalty and helpfulness.

2024 Christian Muñoz and Amanda Ruiz
2023 Ray Che, Daniel Li and Ma Irene Quilantang

Awarded to a Brown student employee who has demonstrated initiative, dependability and quality contributions in their workplace. The recipient positively impacts their work environment and shows the qualities of an outstanding leader.

2024 Not given this year.
2023 Brenda Subilhaga

Emerging Leadership

Awarded to a new student leader on campus (first-year student, transfer student, or a student who has never had any prior involvement until this academic year). This student has shown involvement, dependability and concern for others. “The Emerging Student Leader” is someone who shows great potential for future service to the Brown University community.

Past Recipients

2024 Annika Singh and Kyle Kavully
2023 Lavleen Madahar
2022 Glennie LeBaron, Kelly Wei and Madu Subramanian
2019 Savannah Doelfel
2018 Ben Martel and Ashleigh LoVette
2017 Isabel Thornton and Sonia Sachar
2016 Drashti Brahmbhatt and Renata Mauriz

Awarded to a new student group that was founded within the last two years. This group has demonstrated a dedication to positive engagement within the Brown community and has strived to standards of leadership, growth and impact.

Past Recipients

2024 Brown Ballet Company
2023 Girl Gains Lifting Club
2022 Brown Public Speaking Initiative and Black Star Journal
2019 Disability Justice at Brown (DJAB)
2018 Bias E-Learning Project and the School of Public Health Womxn of Color Collective
2015 Students for Life

Student Groups

Awarded for a student performance group that has demonstrated a mastery of their art. Nominated groups may be asked to perform at the awards ceremony.

Past Recipients

2024 Gendo Taiko
2023 Shades of Brown
2022 Brown Aerial and Acrobatics
2019 Shakespeare on the Green
2017 Mariachi de Brown

For a student group that has exemplified exceptional leadership, through campus programs, building community and impactful initiatives.

Past Recipients

2024 Bengali Students Association and Young Entrepreneurs of Providence
2023 Fashion@Brown, Brown Outing Club and Formula Racing
2022 Create@Brown and Brown Esports
2019 Brown Refugee Youth Tutoring & Enrichment (BRYTE) and Housing Opportunities for People Everywhere (HOPE)
2018 Project LETS, Black Student Union and SoBear Activities Club
2016 Black Student Union and Project LETS
2015 Students for Samaritans and Ivy Film Festival

Engaging Community

Awarded to multiple student groups who demonstrated successful collaboration through the planning and implementation of a campus event or initiative.

Past Recipients

2024 Not given this year.
2023 Brown Concert Agency and Students of Caribbean Ancestry
2022 Class Coordinating Board, Sounds@Brown, Underground Thursdays
2019 oSTEM and Graduate Students of Color in STEM
2018 Impulse Dance Company and BRYTE
2017 Campus of Consent Bill (Sexual Assault Peer Education, SAPE program and Undergraduate Council of Students)
2016 Latin American Student Organization (LASO) and El Movimiento Estudiantil Chican @ de Aztlan (M.E.Ch.A.)
2015 The F.L.A.M.E Conference (Feminists @ Brown)

Awarded to an individual or group that works to positively impact and inspire the local, national or international community by demonstrating a clear purpose of activism, advocacy, or raising awareness for a social, political, environmental or economic issue.

Past Recipients

2024 Doctors and Engineers Without Borders Club at Brown
2023 Art for Service and SoBear
2019 Students for Saving Mothers
2018 Sunrise RI (Formerly RI Student Climate Coalition)
2017 Housing Opportunities for People Everywhere (HOPE), Arely Diaz-Loza
2016 Native Americans at Brown
2015 “Prospects for Peace after Gaza” (J Street U)

For a student leader or group that connects academics and co-curricular endeavors through sponsored events and initiatives. The recipient works to extend learning far beyond the reaches of the classroom experience.

Past Recipients

2024 Society for Asian Scientists and Engineers (SASE)
2023 Ivy League Pre-Health Society
2019 Brown Asian Sisters Empowered (BASE)
2017 Chelse Steele of Mosaic+
2016 Natalie Asalgado and Kimberley Charles
2015 MedTalk Brown (Minority Association of Premedical Students)


This award is given for an event that exemplifies exceptional teamwork through student leadership. The event demonstrated effective planning and implementation to bring about a successful program/event.

Past Recipients

2024 Brown Puzzlehunt (Brown Puzzle Club) and College Climate Gathering (Sunrise Brown)
2023 Gala 2022 (Class Coordinating Board), Lunar New Year (Chinese Students Association)
2022 Detours (TEDxBrownU), Black Convocation (Black Student Union) and Annual Culture Show (AfriSA)
2019 Evicted in Providence (HOPE)
2018 Annual Culture Show sponsored by African Students’ Association (AfriSA)
2017 East Coast Taiko Conference (Gendo Taiko) and Pride Prom (Queer Alliance)
2016 The Brain Fair sponsored by Brown Brain Bee
2015 A Night on College Hall (Class Coordinating Board and Greek Council)


Awarded for a staff or faculty member who has provided exceptional service and/or has made a significant impact to benefit a student group through their supportive efforts, dedication, assistance and encouragement.

Past Recipients

2024 Not given this year.
2023 Alex Haynes
2022 Dean Lindsay Garcia
2019 Anne Marie Ponte
2018 Jennifer Casasanto
2017 Je-Shawna Wholley

Note: The SAO Leadership Awards were not held in 2020 or 2021 due to COVID-19.